Course Duration: 3 Days

Course Category: Information Controls & Security


21 Contact Hours

COBIT® 5 Foundation Course and Certification

What is COBIT®5?

COBIT 5 is the latest edition of ISACA's globally accepted framework. It provides an end-to-end business view of the governance of enterprise IT, reflecting the central role of information and technology in creating value for enterprises of all sizes. The principles, practices, analytical tools and models found in COBIT 5 embody thought leadership and guidance from business, IT and governance experts around the world.


COBIT 5 provides guidance to executives and those charged with making decisions concerning the use of technology in support of organizational objectives. COBIT 5 helps business leaders address the needs of all stakeholders across the enterprise and ultimately maximize the value from information and technology.


COBIT®5 Foundation Level Obtaining the Foundation qualification will show that you have sufficient knowledge and understanding of the COBIT 5 guidance to be able to:

  • Understand the governance and management of enterprise IT
  • Create awareness with your business executives and senior IT management
  • Assess the current state of enterprise IT in your department or organization
  • Scope which aspects of COBIT 5 would be appropriate to implement


Benefits for Individuals
  • Understand levels of IT-related risk and make informed decisions
  • Increase understanding and risk awareness to reduce information security incidents
  • Improve prevention, detection and recovery within an organization
  • Provide tools to maintain high quality information to support business decisions.
  • Help organizations meet regulatory and statutory or government requirements.
  • Understand COBIT approach to governance and relationship with other best practices
Benefits for Organizations
  • Achieve strategic goals and realize business benefits
  • Enable effective and innovative use of IT
  • Support compliance with relevant laws, regulations, contractual agreements, policies
  • Gain competitive edge over other organizations
  • Reduce complexity and increase cost-effectiveness
  • Improved and easier integration of information security standards and good practices
  • Sector-specific guidelines resulting in operational excellence
  • Reliable, efficient application of technology
  • Improved integration of information security in the enterprise,
  • Increased user satisfaction with information security arrangements and outcomes.
Pre-Requisites There are no pre-requisites to the COBIT 5 Foundation Level exam and also, attending the course only for education and knowledge purposes.


Who is it for?

COBIT 5 is ideal for assurance, security, risk, privacy and compliance professionals or business leaders and stakeholders involved in or affected by governance and management of information and information systems.


Training and Exam Duration

Training: 3 days

The course material shall be issued on the first day of the course during registration.

Exam: 40 minutes duration

The exam is a paper based exam which is held at the end of Day 3 of the training.


Exam Patternn

The COBIT 5 Foundation Level Certification exam consists of 50 multiple choice questions that total to 50 marks.


The exam is closed-book, i.e. no materials are allowed to be used. The candidate must achieve at least 50% (25 out of 50) of the total score possible.


Course Content



Overview and key features of COBIT 5

  • The Reasons for the Development of COBIT 5
  • The History of COBIT
  • The Drivers for developing a Framework
  • The Benefits of using COBIT 5
  • The COBIT 5 Format & product Architecture
  • COBIT 5 and other Frameworks

The 5 Principles of COBIT 5

  • Introducing the 5 Principles
  • Principle 1 – Meeting Stakeholder Needs
  • Principle 2 – Covering the Enterprise End-to-End
  • Principle 3 – Applying a Single Integrated Framework
  • Principle 4 – Enabling a Holistic Approach
  • Principle 5 – Separating Governance from Management

The 7 Enablers of COBIT 5

  • Recap & Overview on Principle 4 – Enabling a Holistic Approach
  • Enabler 1 – Principles, Policies and Framework
  • Enabler 2 – Processes
  • Enabler 3 – Organisational Structures
  • Enabler 4 – Culture, Ethics and Behaviour
  • Enabler 5 – Information
  • Enabler 6 – Services, Infrastructure and Applications
  • Enabler 7 – People, Skills and Competencies
  • Appendix – Walk Through on using Goals cascade to scope Processes

Introduction to COBIT 5 Implementation

  • The Life cycle Approach
  • Inter related Components of the Life cycle
  • Understanding the Enterprise internal and external factors
  • Key success factors for implementation
  • The 7 phases of the Life cycle model explained
  • The 7 Change Enablement Characteristics used in the Life cycle
  • Change Enablement Relationships to the Continual Improvement Life cycle
  • Making the Business Case
  • Appendix : Summary of the differences between COBIT 4.1 and COBIT 5

Process Capability Assessment

  • Introduction and Purpose of the Guide
  • Syllabus Learning Areas & Topics
  • Process Assessment explained:
    • What is a process assessment
    • What is the COBIT Assessment Programme
    • The differences between Capability and Maturity Assessment
    • Differences to the COBIT 4.1 CMM
    • Overview of the COBIT 5 Capability Model & Assessments
    • The Process Reference Model (PRM)
    • The Process Assessment Model (PAM)
    • The Measurement Framework
    • Introduction to the Assessor Training Steps

Exam preparation

  • Exam Tips & Tricks
  • Mock Exam 
About ISACA®

ISACA is a nonprofit, independent association that advocates for professionals involved in information security, assurance, risk management and governance. ISACA engages in the development, adoption & use of globally accepted, industry-leading knowledge & practices for information systems.


More information about ISACA is available at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PMI, PMP, PMBOK, CAPM, PMI-ACP and the Registered Education Provider logo are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.
CMMI®, Capability Maturity Model®, Capability Maturity Modeling®, CMM®, PCMM® and Carnegie Mellon® are registered in the US Patent and Trademark Office by Carnegie Mellon University.
ISTQB® is a Registered Trade Mark of the International Software Testing Qualifications Board.
IIBA®, BABOK® and Business Analysis Body of Knowledge® are registered trademarks owned by International Institute of Business Analysis. CBAP® and CCBA® are registered certification marks owned by International Institute of Business Analysis. Certified Business Analysis Professional, Certification of Competency in Business Analysis, Endorsed Education Provider, EEP and the EEP logo are trademarks owned by International Institute of Business Analysis.
The APMG-International Agile Project Management, AgilePM and Swirl Device logos are trademarks of The APM Group Limited.
PRINCE2®, ITIL®, IT Infrastructure Library®, and MSP® are registered trademarks of AXELOS Limited. The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited.
The ITIL Licensed Affiliate logo is a trademark of AXELOS Limited.
SCRUM Alliance REP SM is a service mark of Scrum Alliance, Inc.