Course Duration: 3 Days

Course Category: Software Testing


21 PDUs (Professional Development Units)

ISTQB-BCS Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL)


Background and Objectives
Processworks three day ISTQB-BCS Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) course prepares attendees to take the CTFL exam and get certified. This BCS course is based on the "Foundation Level Syllabus" released by ISTQB in 2018.
This credential is for anyone seeking to attain a credible, proven and a globally recognized qualification on Software Testing.
The ISTQB-BCS Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) qualification is administered and governed globally by International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB). BCS serves as one of the certifying body for this qualification.
The certification is awarded on the basis of a one hour multiple choice examination.






Why BCS-CTFL Certification?
  • Universally recognized – with over 520,000+ professionals certified on CTFL till Q2 of 2018.
  • Tailored to meet the needs of Testing Practitioners at all stages in their careers.
  • Covers fundamental aspects of Software Testing.
  • Fulfills the minimum eligibility criteria to take the ISTQB Advanced Level certifications namely Certified Tester Advanced Level (CTAL) – Test Manager, Test Analyst and Technical Test Analysis.


Benefits to the Employer
  • Certified Testers
  • Improved confidence and performance
  • Formal training and qualification provided.
  • Competency mapping provided for the Testing group.


Benefits to the Candidate
  • Road map for qualification and skills enhancement in Software Testing
  • Gain internal and external recognition of ability and competence
  • Professional development and confidence building


Who Should Attend
  • Software Testers
  • Test Analysts
  • Test Engineers
  • Test Consultants
  • Test Managers
  • User Acceptance Testers
  • Business analysts
  • Systems analysts
  • Software Developers
  • Quality Assurance Staff
  • Project leaders


Course Coverage
1. Fundamentals of testing
1.1 Why is testing necessary?
1.2 What is testing?
1.3 General testing principles
1.4 Fundamental test process
1.5 The psychology of testing
2. Testing throughout the software life cycle
2.1 Software development models
2.2 Test levels
2.3 Test types: the targets of testing
2.4 Maintenance testing
3. Static techniques
3.1 Reviews and the test process
3.2 Review process
3.3 Static analysis by tools
4. Test design techniques
4.1 Identifying test conditions and designing test cases
4.2 Categories of test design techniques
4.3 Specification-based or black-box Techniques
4.4 Structure-based or white-box techniques
5. Test management
5.1 Test organization
5.2 Test planning and estimation
5.3 Test progress monitoring and control
5.4 Configuration management
5.5 Risk and testing
5.6 Incident management
6. Tool support for testing
6.1 Types of test tool
6.2 Effective use of tools: potential benefits and risks

6.3 Introducing a tool into an organization


Training and Exam Duration
Training: 3 days
The course format is a combination of theory, case studies, test practice and situational analysis.
The participants would practice sample questions and mock exams extensively during the training.
The course material is issued on the first day of the course during registration.
Exam: One hour duration
The exams are scheduled at a PearsonVue testing centre close to your location ( The exam is held separately from the training course.
Most course participants take the exam within two weeks or earlier from the course completion date.
Exam Pattern
40 multiple choice questions. 26 questions out of 40 must be answered correctly to achieve the foundation certificate qualification.


Result and Certificate
Results are announced on completion of the examination. Those who pass receive the credential certificate from BCS. The certificate has the seals of ISTQB, BCS and the UK Software Testing Board. E-certificate will be issued to successful candidates. Within 48 hours of taking their BCS exam, candidates will receive an email from BCS. The email will contain a link for candidates to follow. The candidate will be asked to  confirm their personal data and then given access to their e-certificate.


What is BCS and ISTQB?
BCS (British Computer Society)

BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, is a leading industry body for IT professionals around the world. BCS plays a large role in raising skills and competencies in IT globally. BCS has delivered over 700,000 exams in more than 200 countries.

BCS first offered exams in Software Testing in 1998, and were instrumental in the development of the original Software Testing syllabus that evolved into the current ISTQB syllabus. BCS Professional Certification offers over 40 different exams in IT including IT Project Management, IT Service Management and Business Analysis.

More information about BCS is available at
ISTQB (International Software Testing Qualifications Board)
ISTQB (International Software Testing Qualifications Board) was founded in 2002. Since then, ISTQB has become the world leader in the area of Software Testing. ISTQB has grown to have more than 605,000 professionals certified in more than 70 countries worldwide and, approximately 12,000 new certifications being delivered per quarter internationally. ISTQB currently has 59 member boards that are affiliated to it.
More information about ISTQB is available at




Available Funding Support

Singapore Only

Administered by the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA), the CITREP+ funding support is eligible for Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents. 


Valid for courses and examinations commencing on or before 31st March 2019.  Terms and conditions apply. Please visit for full details. 


MR Ref Code: CITREP+/FY18/MR/18-04/732

Comments are closed.

PMI, PMP, PMBOK, CAPM, PMI-ACP and the Registered Education Provider logo are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.
CMMI®, Capability Maturity Model®, Capability Maturity Modeling®, CMM®, PCMM® and Carnegie Mellon® are registered in the US Patent and Trademark Office by Carnegie Mellon University.
ISTQB® is a Registered Trade Mark of the International Software Testing Qualifications Board.
IIBA®, BABOK® and Business Analysis Body of Knowledge® are registered trademarks owned by International Institute of Business Analysis. CBAP® and CCBA® are registered certification marks owned by International Institute of Business Analysis. Certified Business Analysis Professional, Certification of Competency in Business Analysis, Endorsed Education Provider, EEP and the EEP logo are trademarks owned by International Institute of Business Analysis.
The APMG-International Agile Project Management, AgilePM and Swirl Device logos are trademarks of The APM Group Limited.
PRINCE2®, ITIL®, IT Infrastructure Library®, and MSP® are registered trademarks of AXELOS Limited. The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited.
The ITIL Licensed Affiliate logo is a trademark of AXELOS Limited.
SCRUM Alliance REP SM is a service mark of Scrum Alliance, Inc.